Joint Statement on the International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia and Transphobia

Local news, 17.05.2024

Joint statement* - IDAHOT

17 May 2024

No One Left Behind: Equality, Freedom and Justice for All

Embassy of Switzerland in Kosovo
Equality, Freedom and Justice for All IDAHOT, © Adobe Stock

On the occasion of the International Day against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia, we acknowledge and promote the right of every human person to be proud of who they are, to define their own identity and to love the person of their choice.

Every country has an obligation to promote and protect all human rights and fundamental freedoms. It is the duty of each government to protect all persons, irrespective of sex, sexual orientation, or gender identity, from discrimination and violence as well as ensure that all persons enjoy equal opportunities and equal treatment.

Yet, discrimination, hate speech and exclusion because of sexual orientation and gender identity in Kosovo persist, and we are witnessing a worrying pushback of the rights of LGBTIQ+ persons globally.

We will continue to voice concerns and speak up for human rights. Our efforts will continue in close co-operation with civil society because equality, respect for dignity and respect for diversity are at the heart of our work. Everyone, including lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex persons, should be free to enjoy the rights and freedoms to which all individuals everywhere are entitled.

No one should be left behind, and no human right ignored.

*The joint statement is issued by the Embassy of Albania, the Embassy of Austria, the Embassy of Belgium, the Embassy of Canada, the Embassy of the Czech Republic, the Embassy of Denmark, the Representative of Estonia, the Embassy of Finland, the Embassy of France, the Embassy of Germany, the Embassy of Ireland, the Embassy of Italy, the Embassy of Luxembourg, the Embassy of Montenegro, the Embassy of the Netherlands, the Embassy of North Macedonia, the Embassy of Slovenia, the Embassy of Sweden, the Embassy of Switzerland, the Embassy of the United Kingdom and the Embassy of the United States.