Priority regions for international cooperation

The FDFA's development cooperation work will focus on four priority regions.
The FDFA's development cooperation work will focus on four priority regions. © FDFA

Switzerland's new international cooperation strategy has honed its geographical focus and now centres on four priority regions. Global cooperation activities and humanitarian aid will maintain their universal mandate.

Switzerland's International Cooperation Strategy 2021–24 has honed its geographical focus. Swiss development cooperation now concentrates on the following four priority regions:

  • North Africa and the Middle East
  • Sub-Saharan Africa
  • Asia (Central, South and South-East Asia)
  • Eastern Europe

Sharper focus for deploying international cooperation funds

The Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) intends to phase out its development cooperation work in Latin America by the end of 2024, thereby reducing the number of countries prioritised by the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) from 46 to 35. This will allow the SDC to concentrate their funds in regions such as Sub-Saharan Africa, where the need for development cooperation activities is the greatest.

Taking action on a global scale

Climate change, migration, health, water, crisis and disaster aid, peacebuilding and respect for human rights are challenges that extend beyond the borders of the four priority regions. Humanitarian aid, the SDC's global programmes, and actions to promote peace and human security will retain their universal mandate. 

The SDC's priority countries and main areas of engagement

Bilateral development cooperation

Cooperation with Eastern Europe and the CIS

Contribution to the enlarged EU

Humanitarian aid